

# Station Area Advisory Group (SAAG)

#### MEETING MINUTES

June 17, 2020

### I. Call to Order & Orders of the Day

#### Roll Call

PRESENT: Members: Bill Burke, Bill Souders, Edwin Tan, Dan Mountsier, David

Meyer, Edward Saum, Ernst Calais, Harvey Darnell, Jason Baker, Jean Cohen, Jeffrey Buchanan, Jim Goddard, Erica Carr, Kathy Sutherland, Kelly

Doyle, Kevin Christman, Kiyomi Yamamato, Laura Winter, Madison Nguyen, Maria Noel Fernandez, Marla Weinstein, Melissa Cerezo, Melissa Reggiardo, Michelle Azevedo, Michelle Huttenhoff, Miguel Marquez, Norma

Camacho, Reginald Swilley, Rev. Ray, and Whitney Morris.

ABSENT: Members: Cecilia Martin, Greg Peralta, Jonathan Martinez, Sarah Cardona,

Sarah McDermott, Shiloh Ballard, and Stephen McMahon.

STAFF: Kim Walesh, Deputy City Manager/Director of Economic Development;

Nanci Klein, Assistant Director of Economic Development/Director of Real Estate; Rosalynn Hughey, Director of the Planning, Building, and Code Enforcement Department; Robert Manford, Deputy Director of the Planning, Building, and Code Enforcement Department; Tim Rood, Planning Division Manager; John Tu; Planner IV, Planning Division; Jose Ruano, Planner II, DSAP Project Manager; James Han, Planner II, Planning Division; Nicolle Burnham, Deputy Director of Parks, Recreation, and Neighborhood Services

Jessica Zenk, Transportation Deputy Director; Ramses Madou,

Transportation Division Manager; Eric Eidlin; Jacky Morales-Ferrand, Director of Housing; Kristen Clements, Housing Division Manager; Dave Javid, Principal with Plan to Place; Matt Raimi, President with Raimi + Associates, Diana Benitez, Outreach Specialist for Raimi + Associates, and

Suhaila Sikand, Engagement Specialist with Plan to Place.

# Call to Order and Orders of the Day

Kim Walesh convened the Station Area Advisory Group at 6:05 p.m. via Zoom Webinar.

### I. Welcome and Introductions

Kim Walesh shared a brief statement from the City on national demonstrations and the COVID pandemic.

# II. Meeting Minutes for SAAG Meeting on January 16, 2020

Dave Javid asked for motion to approve the minutes from the last meeting.

Action: Upon a motion by SAAG Member Kevin Christman, seconded by SAAG Member Edward Saum and carried, the SAAG members approved the meeting minutes for January 16, 2020. Absent Members: Cecilia Martin, Greg Peralta, Jonathan Martinez, Sarah Cardona, Sarah McDermott, Shiloh Ballard, and Stephen McMahon.

<u>Documents Filed</u>: Meeting Minutes and Meeting Summary for SAAG Meeting on January 16, 2020.

# III. Planning Update—Engagement Plan, Diridon Station Area Plan, and Google Mixed-Use Plan Updates

Tim Rood, Planning Division Manager provided a brief planning update and next steps regarding the Diridon Station Area Plan and Downtown West proposal engagement and study sessions. Nanci Klein, Assistant Director of Economic Development/Director of Real Estate provided an update on Development Agreement, community benefits framework, and next steps. Following the presentation, the SAAG asked questions and provided comments.

# IV. Overview of Spring 2020 Outreach and Online Survey

Matt Raimi, Raimi + Associates shared summaries of each presentation, as well as the survey results after each topic was presented.

#### V. Public Comment

Following the discussion by the SAAG, 13 members of the public provided comments on the agenda items via audio during the Zoom meeting.

# VI. Adjournment

Dave Javid adjourned the meeting at 8:32 p.m.

Kim Walesh
Deputy City Manager
Director of Economic Development

ATTEST:

Station Area Advisory Group Secretary

